San Luis Valley Regional Transportation Planning Commission

Transportation Planning Regions, created by state legislation, assist the Colorado Department of Transportation in the development of regional and statewide transportation plans. The San Luis Valley Transportation Planning Region, one of 15 such regions in the state, consists of the areas within the seven counties of Alamosa, Chaffee, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, and Saguache.

The San Luis Valley Regional Transportation Planning Commission is responsible for providing public and local government input into CDOT’s transportation planning process.

For more information and links regional transportation and transit plans, go to Transportation Planning.

Specific responsibilities are:

  • To cooperate with state and other governmental agencies, to carry out necessary continuing, cooperative, and comprehensive transportation planning for the San Luis Valley Transportation Planning Region.
  • For creating, amending and updating the San Luis Valley Regional Transportation Plan pursuant to all applicable federal and state laws and rules or regulations including public participation provisions.
  • For recommending the priority for any transportation improvements planned for the region.
  • For participating in the State Transportation Improvement Program development process.

Each county and municipality in the planning region is asked to be represented on the SLVRTPC and is allowed one vote. Businesses and organizations interested in transportation are encouraged to participate in the SLVRTPC, but have no vote.

The SLVRTPC meets quarterly throughout the year to review and discuss transportation issues.

Staff Contact: Hew Hallock